Quality Care

The Quality Improvement Program at Anglican Care is a comprehensive program that manages the systems used to ensure that our service remains customer focussed and achieves our mission of excellent care and enhanced lifestyles.

Quality Improvement includes policy development, implementation and evaluation, as well as the auditing of our systems to ensure that they remain current. Quality Improvement is a collaborative effort that enables people to work together across organisational boundaries to improve shared processes.

Quality Improvement can take many forms and includes a wide range of activities to meet the needs of the organisation. Individual residential aged care homes and services can implement Quality Improvement projects specific to their area or needs or an organisational project.

The comprehensive Quality System ensures that residents and consumers receive a high standard of individualised care and continue to be satisfied with the care and service they receive.

Each Anglican Care residential aged care home and home care package has an Internal Audit undertaken to monitor compliance with:

  • The organisation’s Policy and Procedures
  • The Quality Plan and the ongoing identification of areas for improvement
  • The Aged Care Standards

During this process it is likely that you or your relative/representative may be asked questions about satisfaction with the service. However at any time you may make a suggestion for improvement.

Suggestions for improvement may be made either verbally to a staff member or via the completion of a Feedback Form, located at reception or on the Anglican Care website (click here to go to the feedback section of the website). We encourage suggestions for improvements, comments and ideas, so we can continuously improve our level of service to residents and their relatives/representatives. The Quality system has been specifically designed to resident satisfaction and to work collaboratively with residents and their relative/representatives.


Anglican Care subscribes to a national benchmarking program as another aspect of our Quality Improvement Activities.

Benchmarking involves the collection and submission of data on a number of areas such as resident falls, infection rates and staffing ratios. These results are then compared to other Aged Care Homes and we are given an overall rating. A number of resident/relative survey forms form part of the benchmarking program. An employee satisfaction survey is also conducted regularly which forms part of our benchmarking program.

Measuring Satisfaction

Residents, relatives and staff satisfaction are measured in a number of ways. These are both informal and formal. Formal measurement tools include the annual resident, relative and staff satisfaction surveys undertaken by Press Ganey. Staff satisfaction is measured formally by conducting regular “Voice” surveys which are conducted in collaboration with Macquarie University Voice Project.  As well as these tools all parties have the opportunity to raise issues and make comments at regular meetings held throughout the year.


All residential aged care homes and home care providers are accountable under the Aged Care Act and the Aged Care Quality of Care Principles.

The Aged Care Act outlines the processes of accreditation for residential care homes and quality reviews for home care.  The Act outlines the standards on which all residential aged care facilities are measured against and the Home Care Common Standards that home care providers are measured against. The standards assess the overall quality of services provided.

The Australian Aged Care Quality Agency manages the accreditation and quality review process.

There are 4 main Accreditation Standards (residential care):

  • Standard 1 Management Systems, Staffing and Organisational Development
  • Standard 2 Health and Personal Care
  • Standard 3 Resident Lifestyle
  • Standard 4 Physical Environment and Safe Systems

There are 3 main Home Care Common Standards (Home care):

  • Standard 1 Effective Management
  • Standard 2 Appropriate Access and Service Delivery
  • Standard 3 Service User Rights and Responsibilities